Botryosphaeriales » Botryosphaeriaceae » Lasiodiplodia

Lasiodiplodia acaciae

Lasiodiplodia acaciae W. Zhang & Crous, Persoonia 46: 96.2021.

Index Fungorum: IF 838094; MycoBank: MB838094.

Colony sporulating on PNA. Asexual morph: Conidiomata up to 370 μm wide, 350 μm high, globose, solitary, black, superficial or rarely semi­immersed. Ostiole central, circular, with or without papilla. Paraphyses up to 69 μm in length, 2–5 μm wide, hyaline, unbranched or rarely branched, initially aseptate, becoming up to one-to-six-septate when mature. Conidiophores not observed or reduced to conidiogenous cells. Conidiogenous cells (9–)11–17.5(–22) × (2.5–)3.5–5(–6) μm, holoblastic, discrete, cylindrical, hyaline, smooth, indeterminate, proliferating at the same level giving rise to periclinal thickenings, or proliferating percurrently to form one or two indistinct annellations. Conidia (21.5–)25–29.5(–31) × (11–)12–14(–15) μm (av. = 27.3 × 12.9 μm, n = 50), L/W ratio = 2.1, hyaline, aseptate, wall 2–3 μm thick, oblong to ovoid, becoming brown with septate and longitudinal striations when aged. Sexual morph: not observed.

Culture characteristics: Colonies covering the dish on PDA after 4 d in the dark at 25 °C.

Representative isolate: Indonesia, on living leaves of Acacia sp., conidiomata induced on PNA medium, June 2012, M.J. Wingfield, holotype CBS H-24134, CBS 136434 (ex-type culture).

Hosts: Acacia species (Zhang et al. 2021).

GenBank Numbers: ITS MT587421; tef1 MT592133; tub2 MT592613; rpb2 MT592307

Notes: Phylogenetically, Lasiodiplodia acaciae closely related to L. swieteniae, L. thailandica, L. hyalina, L. jatrophicola and L. iraniensis, but can be distinguished from these species based on its morphology.


Zhang W, Groenewald JZ, Lombard L, Schumacher RK, Phillips AJL, Crous PW (2021) Evaluating species in Botryosphaeriales. Persoonia 46: 63–115.


About Botryosphaeriales

The webpage provides an up-to-date classification and account of taxa of Botryosphaeriales.


Published by the Mushroom Research Foundation 
Copyright © The copyright belongs to the Mushroom Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.